It’s happening, isn’t it?

Now, a few years back, if you had told me that 2013 would see the return of Arrested Development to TV, I’d have said you were insane. If you told me that later on that year, Joss Whedon would also be returning to TV, this time with a S.H.I.E.L.D. TV show, starring Clark Gregg as Agent Coulson, I would have been infuriated by your cruel humor.

Sometimes the world is just a beautiful place.

It’s happening, isn’t it?

A quick review and my initial feelings:

Arrested Development: I can’t even begin describe how excited, nervous, giddy, and freaked out I am by this show coming back. A TV show really shouldn’t have such a profound effect on me, but oh well.

It’s an unheard of phenomenon, an unfairly cancelled show being revived after nearly a decade off the air, and showing on the internet alone by a DVD rental store. It’s symbolic of the industry as a whole, how consumer demands are shaping the way we create material. The kick-started Veronica Mars movie is similar.

And like I said, it’s a mix of emotions: Nervous that it will be a disappointment, wonder that it’s happening at all, and, mostly extreme excitement. I’ve watched the trailer around fifty times, because it’s these characters I have watched over and over again, and they are saying new words that I have never heard them say before.

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D: I mean, it’s my favorite TV writer, helming a show that takes place in the Marvel universe, connected with the movie franchises. Like Arrested Development, it’s unprecedented and exciting. And, like AD, it’s burdened with bloated expectations.

Whedon has a thing for Brits and young geniuses, and this time he’s combining that those tropes. While that’s great and all, I’m not enthusiastic about the cast, so far. They look generically young, white, and pretty, with the one exception being young, Asian, and pretty. I get that he wanted an entirely original cast, for whatever reason, and it’s Whedon, so I’ll shelve my trepidations for now.

Now, who is J. August Richards playing? The idea that he’s playing Luke Cage has been pretty much tossed out. His one joke line about carrying a shield makes me think he might be Patriot, or some variation on him. It would tie in the to movies, and make a certain amount of sense. I guess we’ll find out. I’m glad to see Richards back on screen though, in any case.

So a fair bit of nervousness mixed in the with excitement. But come May 26, we’ll know about Arrested Development, and S.H.I.E.L.D. won’t be far behind.

I still can’t believe these programs are actually happening.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

